SSC CGL Exam Pattern – Detailed Exam Pattern Explained

In this post we are going to explain in details about the SSC CGL Exam Pattern. Many of you may be aware that SSC CGL or Staff Selection Commission Combined Graduate Level Examination is being conducted every year. SSC CGL Examination is being conducted for recruitment of various posts in various Central Government Departments.

SSC CGL is considered the most popular of all competitive exams in India. It is considered even more popular than the exams such as IBPS Clerk, IBPS PO, SBI PO and many other popular Examinations.

ssc cgl exam pattern
ssc cgl exam pattern

The reasons for huge popularity of the SSC CGL exam are many. SSC CGL exam is for various kind of vacancies hence it cover a wide range of central government jobs. Simplicity of the exam pattern is also an important reason. The exam pattern of SSC CGL and also of other SSC exams remains quite simple and easy to understand. Hence this exam is very popular among common students of small cities and villages also. Due to this reason, even common students from all over India like to apply for these jobs.

So if you are an aspirant for the SSC exams you must go through this article on SSC CGL Exam Pattern.

I have appeared in various competitive exams and also have qualified many. In my view the first and foremost thing for good preparation is to understand the exam pattern and syllabus of any exam. If you are clear on it, you will be able to prepare well and to crack the exam as well. Obviously good preparation is always important. Before starting your preparation you must be clear about the exam pattern, syllabus, good books, level of competition etc.

SSC CGL Exam Pattern Explained

As far as SSC CGL Exam Pattern is concerned, the exam is being conducted in three  phases. The three phases are tier I, tier II and tier III. It can also termed as preliminary, mains and personality test or computer proficiency test/skill test.

So broadly we can describe SSC CGL Exam Pattern as under:

Tier -I — Written Examination (Objective Multiple Choice Type)

Tier -II — Written Examination (Objective Multiple Choice Type)

Tier -III — Computer Proficiency Test/ Skill Test (wherever applicable)/Document Verification

Tier I Examination of SSC CGL: Let us first analyze the tier I of SSC CGL Examination. Tier I is basically a screening test to separate well prepare candidates from lesser prepared students. Since lacs of students appear in SSC CGL examination every year hence the purpose of the tier I examination is to filter the candidates who are not well prepared so that the main exam can be conducted only among serious and well prepared students. However it does not mean that those who are unable to qualify the tier I are not sincere and well prepared students. Many good students also fail to qualify tier I exam due to rising level of competition. The structure of tier I exam will be as under:

General Intelligence + Reasoning – 50 marks

General Awareness – 50 marks

Quantitative Aptitude – 50 marks

English Comprehension – 50 marks

Total Marks – 200

Duration: 02 hours

(For VH and candidates suffering from Cerebral Palsy: 2 hours 40 minutes).

Tier II Examination of SSC CGL: Let us now analyze the tier II of SSC CGL Examination. Tier II is for candidates who have crossed the first hurdle. Hence obviously all the students here are well prepared and the level of competition is more. Therefore if you have qualified the first hurdle you need to work very hard and you can qualify tier II with a planned preparation. The structure of tier I exam will be as under:

Quantitative Abilities: 200 marks (100 Questions)

Duration: 2 hours

(For VH and candidates suffering from Cerebral Palsy: 2 hours 40 minutes)

English Language & Comprehension: 200 marks.

Duration: 2 hours

(For VH and candidates suffering from Cerebral Palsy: 2 hours 40 minutes)

Total Marks: 400

Interview: Interview has been dispensed with.

Other Important Points on SSC CGL Exam Pattern

Computer Proficiency Test (CPT) will be also conducted for post of Assistant in CSS only.

For Tax Assistant Data Entry Skill Test at Speed of 8000 key depression per hour will be required.

For Statistical Investigator Paper-I & II as mentioned in Tier II and there will be one more paper i.e. Paper-III Statistics which will be of 200 marks (100 Questions).

There will be negative marking of 0.25 marks for each wrong answer in Tier-I. In Tier-II, there will be negative marking of 0.25 marks in Paper-II and 0.50 marks in Paper-I and Paper- III for each wrong answer.

Thus we have tried to explain about the SSC CGL Exam Pattern in a simple and easy to understand language. After reading this article you will be well aware about the exam pattern of SSC CGL. However if you still have any query or have any questions on this examination you can post your queries and we will respond to that.

Official SSC Website

Free Study Material for SSC CGL 2016

General Knowledge



Quanitative Aptitude

About Anshu

I am writing Blogs for past many years. Being a Blogger mine objective always is to provide in depth and honest information to my visitors. The purpose is to help others as much as I can, at the same time writing gives me a sense of satisfaction.


Leave a Reply